WBC Convention Awards

The following awards were given out at the WBC convention in Chengdu earlier this month.

NABF members who received awards have their names underlined.  Congratulations to all the award winners.

November 26, 2008 – Mexico City.

From the office of WBC President Jose Sulaiman:


Special awards  to attending champions:
Vitali Klitschko, WBC heavyweight world champion
Timothy Bradley Jr., WBC super lightweight world champion
Toshiaki Nishioka, WBC super bantamweight world champion
Hozumi Hasegawa, WBC bantamweight world champion
Oscar Larios, WBC featherweight world champion
Veeraphol Nakhonluang, Former WBC bantamweight world champion

“Man of the Year:” Ing. Carlos Slim Helu, TELMEX

“Lifetime Achievement Award:” Dr. Pedro Sequeira

“The Marvin Kohn Good Fellow Award:” Edward Thangarajah

“The Working Horse Boxing Award:” Luis Escalona, Joe Dwyer, Joe Koizumi, David Walker

“Ray Hawkins Judge of the Year:” Tom Kaczmarek, Ken Morita

“Chuck Hassett Referee of the Year:” Kenny Bayless, Massimo Barrovecchio

“Communications Lifetime Achievement Award:” HBO

“Broadcasting Award:” Ludo Saenz – Notifight

“Commission of the Year:” Comision de Boxeo de Puerto Rico, Japan Boxing Commission

“Commissioner of the Year:” Tsuyoshi Yasukochi

“Committee Chairman of the Year:” Ed Pearson

“Committee Member of the Year:” Claude Jackson

“Confederation of the Year:” European Boxing Union

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *